Message urgent

Bernhard Günter, Reinhold Friedl, Michael Vorfeld

For this release the respected improvisation duo of Reinhold Friedl, inside piano and Michael Vorfeld, percussion and stringed instruments is joined by Bernhard Günter, electric cellotar. Reinhold, Michael, and me first got together to play concert at the Podewil in Berlin in November 2003. After the soundcheck as our sole rehearsal we played a really intense set, and were astonished by how well our playing as a trio functioned. We then spent the next day recording in the same space at the Podewil, a recording session that was both mentally and physically so intense it left us exhausted (I still distinctly remember our hands trembling). Message Urgent now presents these recordings.

This trio music is quite different from that of my trio +minus, it is quite dense (at times almost orchestral) and intense, although of very low volume (please resist the temptation to turn the volume up), constantly changing atmospheres and moods. The intensity of our session is well captured by the recording (as well as a bit of background noise that becomes noticeable during the most silent moments), and so the CD provides a listening experience you should not miss. We have played a concert in Strasbourg in the meantime, and I hope we will be performing together again in the future.

CD (TOC 042)

  • Label: trente oiseaux
  • TOC 042
  • 2004
  • Jewel case
  • 125 mm × 142 mm × 10 mm
  • 90 g

On the web