Yves Daoust

  • Canada Council for the Arts • SODEC

CD (IMED 22182)

  • Label: empreintes DIGITALes
  • IMED 22182
  • 2022
  • UCC 771028218226
  • Total duration: 66:43
  • OGpak
  • 125 mm × 125 mm × 10 mm
  • 50 g

Download (IMED 22182_NUM)


About Docu-fictions

“Rebuild from separate elements to make a more legible false reality.”

Alain Savouret, January 2022

My very first electroacoustic music piece was entitled Paris, les Grands-magasins (1975), an audio documentary of sorts (I suppose it would be called a podcast today) where I attempted to recreate the atmosphere of a department store through a live sale (“Only 30 minutes left, shoppers”).

Then came Quatuor (1979), seemingly its complete opposite, an abstract, “aesthetic” piece. This one was inspired by a strange dream where I saw the four musicians of a string quartet, all dressed up and dignified, lose all civility and start hitting each other with their bows…

With Quatuor, I started exploring the classical music repertoire, looking to trigger new readings of works from the past through their confrontation or comparison with contemporary documentary environments. This approach is illustrated herein by Impromptu 2 and Calme chaos.

On the other hand, Lily, which is articulated around the confidences of a courtesan, feels closer to Paris, les Grands-magasins. I have included two versions of it, an acousmatic one and a mixed music one. I believe they open up different readings.

[English translation: François Couture, ii-22]

Some recommended items