Artists Horacio Vaggione

Horacio Vaggione has been integrating computers to his approach to composition since the 1970s. His body of work includes electroacoustic pieces, mixed pieces, and instrumental music.

Born in 1943 in Argentina, Vaggione has been residing in France since 1978. He studied piano with Ornella Ballestreri and composition at Universidad Nacional de Córdoba (Argentina, 1959-62) and in Buenos Aires (Argentina) with Juan Carlos Paz. He holds a PhD in musicology from Université Paris 8 (France, 1983), where he worked under Daniel Charles.

Horacio Vaggione cofounded the Universidad Nacional de Córdoba’s Centro de música experimental (CME) in 1965. A year later, on a Fulbright fellowship, he was introduced to the computer as a music tool by Lejaren Hiller and Herbert Brün at University of Illinois (Urbana, Illinois, USA). In 1969-73, he joined Luis de Pablo in the electroacoustic music studio Alea in Madrid (Spain), after which he worked in various French studios — GRM, IRCAM, IMEB — and in several European and North-American universities. He was artist-in-residence in Berlin (Germany) in 1987-88 on a fellowship from DAAD.

Horacio Vaggione won awards in numerous international competitions, including NEWCOMP (Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA, 1983); the ICMA Award (1992), the Euphonie d’or (Bourges, France, 1996), the Ton Bruynèl Award (The Netherlands, 2010), and the Giga-Hertz-Preis 2012 (Karlsruhe, Germany).

Starting in 1989, Horacio Vaggione worked at the Music Department of Université Paris 8 (France) as a professor, PhD research director, and director of the Centre de recherche informatique et création musicale (CICM). He became Professor Emeritus in 2012.

[English translation: François Couture, ix-17]

Horacio Vaggione

Córdoba (Argentina), 1943

Residence: Paris (France)

  • Composer

On the web

Horacio Vaggione [September 2007]
Horacio Vaggione [September 2007]
  • Flô Menezes, Åke Parmerud, Horacio Vaggione [São Paulo (Brazil), October 10, 2016]

Selected works

Main releases

empreintes DIGITALes / IMED 17145, IMED 17145_NUM / 2017


empreintes DIGITALes / IMED 0785, IMED 0785_NUM / 2007
Various artists
EMF Media / EMF 053 / 2004
Musiques & Recherches / LIEN 1991-10, LIEN 1991-10pdf / 1991


Various artists
  • Not in catalogue
  • Not in catalogue
L’Harmattan / LHARM 9782296129597 / 2010
  • Not in catalogue
Various artists
[Independent] / EMH 2009 / 2009
  • Not in catalogue
Various artists
Limen Music / DVD01 AV001 / 2008
  • Not in catalogue
L’Harmattan / LHARM 9782296028326 / 2007
  • Not in catalogue


By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.