Suite baroque

Yves Daoust

Suite baroque

  • Yves Daoust
  • Year of composition: 1989
  • Duration: 19:12
  • Instrumentation: stereo fixed medium
  • Publisher(s): Ymx média
  • Commission: Catherine Perrin
  • ISWC: T0704934166

Suite Baroque (Baroque Suite) was composed for the concert-performance Ni terrible, ni simple (Neither Difficult, Nor Simple) by harpsichordist/actress Catherine Perrin. Used as transitions between solo harpsichord pieces performed by the musician, each of the movements of Suite Baroque articulates a different dramatic climate which reflects various “moods” of the performer/actress.

Each movement of the suite is constructed on a specific aspect of the baroque style, its rhetorical processes, its artifices — signs now almost indecipherable but for a small circle of experts.


Suite Baroque was realized at the composer’s studio in 1989. It was premiered as part of the Ni terrible, ni simple performance in February, 1989, at Obscure in Québec City. This piece was commissioned by Catherine Perrin.


  • February 1989, Concert, Obscure, Quebec City (Québec)