Rictus nocturne

Jacques Tremblay

Rictus nocturne

  • Jacques Tremblay
  • Year of composition: 1992
  • Duration: 11:38
  • Instrumentation: stereo fixed medium
  • Publisher(s): Ymx média
  • ISWC: T0702859333

Rictus nocturne (Nocturnal Rictus) is divided into six movements, each one named after a jazz standard. It is a tribute to jazz musicians, to their spontaneity and their freedom. Each movement follows its own story and develops a compositional problem: montage; play-sequence; of density; of silence; and of sketched, improvised and edited sequences from object-instruments (samplers).

This work is like a jam session of the various electroacoustic techniques, aiming to express certain states of mind, from chamber music to another, more urban style.

Rictus nocturne was realized in 1992 at the studio of the Conservatoire national de région de Lyon (France), at the studios of the Groupe de recherches musicales (Ina-GRM, Paris) and the Groupe de musique vivante de Lyon (GMVL). The work premiered in June 1992 at the Salle Rameau (Lyon, France). Rictus nocturne was selected for the 21st Bourges International Electroacoustic Music Competition (France, 1993). Thanks to Arnaud Geffray, Lionel Marchetti and Bernard Fort.


  • June 1992, Concert, Salle Rameau, Lyon (Rhône, France)