Works Die Winterreise Daniel Leduc, Wilhelm Müller

Die Winterreise

  • Daniel Leduc, Wilhelm Müller
  • Year of composition: 1997
  • Duration: 42:15
  • Instrumentation: stereo fixed medium
  • Publisher(s): Yul média
  • ISWC: T0714513764

Die Winterreise (The Winter’s Journey) is my most ambitious electroacoustic undertaking to date. Written as a suite of miniatures, this electroacoustic music drama is made up of the 24 poems by the same name written by Wilhelm Müller (1794-1827). They are spoken here by the Montréal actor of German origin, Erwin Potitt. To Müller’s texts I have added a 25th and final miniature, Coda, which concludes my interpretation of the electroacoustic music drama that is Die Winterreise.

Die Winterreise was realized from 1995 to 1997 at the composer’s studio and in the studio of the Secteur électroacoustique of the Faculty of Music of the Université de Montréal.