Sub Terra Cycle

Natasha Barrett

Sub Terra Cycle

  • Natasha Barrett
  • Year of composition: 2007-08
  • Publisher(s): Ymx média
  • Commission: NyMusikk Rogaland with support from the Norsk Kulturråd and the Norsk Komponistforening

The Sub Terra Cycle consists of a concert composition — Sub Terra — and three sound installations: Kongsberg Silver Mines, Under the Sea Floor (Coring and Strata), and Sand Island. Each installation focuses on sounds unique to three underground Norwegian locations, creating surreal semi-narrative journeys. The installation sites lead the visitor through underground or enclosed sound-worlds, where atmosphere and acoustics allow the sound to live, gradually closer to the concert space.


The four works of the Sub Terra Cycle were realized in 2007-08 at the composer’s studio and premiered on the 4 September 2008 during the West Coast Festival of Numusic 2008 in Stavanger (Norway). The piece was commissioned by NyMusikk Rogaland with funds from the Norsk kulturråd (Arts Council Norway) and the Norsk Komponistforening (Norwegian Society of Composers).


  • September 4, 2008, West Coast Festival of Numusic 2008, Stavanger (Norway)

Works in this cycle