Necropolis — City of the Dead

Åke Parmerud

Necropolis — City of the Dead

  • Åke Parmerud
  • Year of composition: 2011
  • Duration: 13:45
  • Instrumentation: 8-channel fixed medium
  • Publisher(s): Ymx média
  • Commission: Ina-GRM
  • ISWC: T9139043597

“Ladies and gentlemen! You are about to enter the Necropolis of music. Within these catacombs, you will witness the remains of some of the greatest music of all times. However, the condition of the musical bodies that rest in the crypts is unfortunately in various states of decomposition. In spite of innumerable experts of preservation who have made their utmost to keep the corpses intact, time has had its unavoidable effect. Although partly falling to pieces in sometimes rather bizarre ways, you will surely recognize the origins of the various masterpieces even in moments of complete collapse. So prepare for a journey through the darkness of time and space as you are transported down the slopes leading to the entrance of the city of the dead.”


Necropolis — City of the Dead was realized in 2011 at the studio of the GRM in Paris (France) and premiered on September 23, 2011 as part of the Multiphonies series presented by the Ina-GRM at the Auditorium Saint-Germain of the MPAA (Paris, France). The piece was commissioned by the Ina-GRM.


  • September 23, 2011, Multiphonies 2011-12: Akousma + Live Electronics, Auditorium Saint-Germain — MPAA, Paris (France)