Jonty Harrison

  • Year of composition: 1999-2006
  • Duration: 47:39
  • Instrumentation: 8-channel fixed medium
  • Publisher(s): Ymx média
  • ISWC: T0117414900

Surround 5.1

ReCycle is a series of four works based loosely on the four Greek classical elements: earth — Rock ’n’ Roll (2004); fire — Internal Combustion (2005-06); air — Free Fall (2006); and water — Streams (1999). The title ReCycle came primarily from the fact that many themes and sound types I have used in earlier works are revisited here, but it also reflects the possibility that listeners may detect a sub-text of environmental concern — something which I readily acknowledge and which runs through much of my work since the 1980s. Each piece in the series was composed using a slightly different multi-loudspeaker configuration and explores different aspects and types of motion, trajectory and spatial organisation.

ReCycle premiered in its complete form as a series of 4 works on May 25, 2007 during the Klangfest festival produced by BEAST at the CBSO Centre in Birmingham (UK).


  • May 25, 2007, Klangfest: Concert 2, CBSO Centre, Birmingham (England, UK)