Les trois petits c…

Pierre Alexandre Tremblay

  • Year of composition: 2010
  • Duration: 13:09
  • Instrumentation: 5.1-channel fixed medium
  • Publisher(s): Ymx média
  • Commission: Musiques & Recherches
  • ISWC: T9066209629


ISRC CAD501110119

  • AAC, 320 kbps
  • MP3, 320 kbps
  • 48 kHz, 24 bits

Surround 5.1

ISRC CAD501110111

  • Dolby Digital, 48 kHz, 24 bits
  • 48 kHz, 24 bits

To Hilke

“Woman is the future of man.” — Louis Aragon, Le fou d’Elsa

This piece, the title of which may imply humour at first glance, is an ode to the resilience of women. With its working title being “A Woman in Berlin,” the project is born of an immense admiration for a young woman of my surrounding that now lives this very city, and that has won two fights against cancer. Around the same time, I was reading the famous book bearing the same title, this diary of another young woman through the occupation of Berlin by the Russian army in 1945, and I could not stop being astonished by the capacity of women to find a place for happiness in these times of immense hardship.

By using a simple story as a narrative foundation, I hope to give a hint at the contagious happiness of these exceptional beings faced to adversity. They are forever my models.


Les trois petits c… was realized in 2010 at the Métamorphoses d’Orphée studio of Musiques & Recherches in Ohain (Belgium) and at the composer’s studio and premiered on May 25, 2011 as part of the Trois visages des musiques électroacoustiques concert series produced by Musiques & Recherches at Espace Senghor in Brussels (Belgium). The piece was commissioned by Musiques & Recherches. Special thanks to Hilke Bahmann for her great generosity during the recording sessions. Thanks to the people around Musiques & Recherches: Annette Vande Gorne, Roald Baudoux, Alexis Boilley, Violaine Dehin, France Dubois, and Paul ‘Pablo’ Miquet.


  • May 25, 2011, Trois visages des musiques électroacoustiques: Musique électroacoustique et vidéomusique, Le Senghor, Brussels (Belgium)