Fields of Darkness and Light

Adrian Moore

  • Year of composition: 2009-10
  • Duration: 10:23
  • Instrumentation: violin and stereo fixed medium
  • Publisher(s): Ymx média
  • Commission: Darragh Morgan
  • ISWC: T9115728831


ISRC CAD501110146

  • 96 kHz, 24 bits

To Darragh Morgan

Fields of Darkness and Light is built upon a sequence of 13 chords. These chords, and their transpositions provide the harmonic structure over which the violin presents a number of themes. There is no real-time transformation of the violin sound. Instead the stereo ‘tape part’ is fractured into 100 small segments that are triggered by a computer performer. These fragments may form a drone (which may comprise many layers) or a dialogue with the soloist. Either way, this piece presents more of an opportunity for the soloist and computer player to work as an ensemble.


Fields of Darkness and Light was realized between October 2009 and February 2010 at the composer’s studio and premiered by Darragh Morgan on April 28, 2010 in Clothworkers Centenary Hall (Leeds, UK). The piece was commissioned by Darragh Morgan.


  • April 28, 2010, Darragh Morgan, violin • Concert, Clothworkers Centenary Hall — School of Music — University of Leeds, Leeds (England, UK)