Fluides (Download) Consort for Convolved Violins

Consort for Convolved Violins

Horacio Vaggione

  • Year of composition: 2011
  • Duration: 7:12
  • Instrumentation: stereo fixed medium


ISRC CAD501710097

  • 44,1 kHz, 16 bits
  • 48 kHz, 24 bits
  • 48 kHz, 32 bits
To Max Mathews, in memoriam

Consort for Convolved Violins is dedicated to Max Mathews, pioneer of computer-assisted sound synthesis, who passed away in 2011. He also loved the violin.

This “consort” is the result of the application of digital convolution techniques to objects taken from the sonic world of the violin. Three musicians are playing figures from a score written especially for this project. The sounds they make are captured by a microphone and digitized. Nowadays we have techniques that make it possible to produce convolutions in real-time, but working in delayed time allows a higher level of precision – to a few milliseconds – in how sound materials are tied together. This explains why Consort for Convolved Violins is an acousmatic piece realized in the studio with an approach later used for PianoHertz (it is actually an ancestor of the latter).

[English translation: François Couture, ix-17]

Consort for Convolved Violins was realized in 2011 at the studios of the Centre de recherche informatique et création musicale (CICM) of the Université Paris 8 (France) and premiered on May 8, 2012, during the Écologie des sons festival in the Amphithéâtre X of the Université Paris 8 (France). Source-violins: Wen Chen, David Brown, Manfred Kraemer.


  • May 8, 2012, Festival Écologie des sons, Amphi X — Université Paris 8, Saint-Denis (Seine-Saint-Denis, France)

About this recording

This recording was finalized at the composer’s studio in August 2017.

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.