Track listing detail

Bells and Gargoyles

Katharine Norman

  • Year of composition: 1996
  • Duration: 14:35
  • Instrumentation: fixed medium


Bells and Gargoyles is a digitally created soundscape, made from recordings collected late on a stormy night in the Derbyshire village of Hathersage. The ancient church stands on top of a steep hill. Its bells mark time’s passing. Strange gargoyles jut out from the roof, infiltrating the night with their mysterious, disturbing presence. Walking alone, heart in mouth, the air seems full of spirits and outer reality becomes confused with inner imagination. Bells and Gargoyles takes a nocturnal journey, through a darkness which is eerie but not necessarily to be feared.

Mutual and Reciprocal Ceremonies, Version 2

Simon H Fell

  • Year of composition: 1996
  • Duration: 13:34
  • Instrumentation: stereo fixed medium