Track listing detail

Broken Ground

Christian Bouchard

  • Year of composition: 2011-12, 13
  • Duration: 57:50
  • Instrumentation: stereo fixed medium
  • Publisher(s): Ymx média
  • Commission: Derek Besant, with support from the CALQ
  • ISWC: T9202505144


ISRC CAD501710001

Broken Ground was realized in 2011-12 at the composer’s studio in Montréal (Québec) and premiered on February 11, 2012 during the exhibition Broken Ground by Derek Besant at Phoenix Brighton in Brighton (England, UK); the work was revised in 2013 and premiered on April 18, 2013 during the 55th Vienna Biennale at the Künstlerhaus in Vienna (Austria). The exhibition was also presented in 2012 at the Museo di Palazzo Grimani — Polo Museale del Venezia, Venice (Italy) and during the Międzynarodowe Triennale Grafiki (International Print Triennial), Kraków (Poland); in 2013 at the Horst-Janssen-Museum, Oldenburg (Germany) and at Northern Print, Newcastle upon Tyne (England, UK); in 2014 during the Bienal Internacional de Gravura do Douro (International Printmaking Biennial Douro), Douro (Portugal); in 2015 at the Shengzhi Art Centre — 798 Art District, Beijing (China); in 2016 at the Taimiao Art Gallery — Beijing Working People’s Culture Palace, Beijing (China); in 2017 at the Centro de Arte Moderno, Madrid (Spain); and in 2018 at the Prince Takamado Gallery of the Embassy of Canada, Tokyo (Japan). Broken Ground was remixed in 2016 at the composer’s studio in Montréal (Québec). The piece was commissioned by Derek Besant with support from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (CALQ).