Track listing detail


Rocío Cano Valiño

  • Year of composition: 2018
  • Duration: 8:22
  • Instrumentation: fixed medium


Astérion is an acousmatic piece inspired by Jorge Luis Borges’ The House of Asterion. The shorty story describes the life of a Minotaur named Asterion, who lives in an immense labyrinth. This place is his home and his prison, and is at once finite and infinite. Every nine years, nine men enter his house so that he may “deliver them from evil.” One of them prophesies that at the time of his death, his redeemer (Theseus) would come. The acousmatic work leads the auditor through the labyrinth. In the last part, the musical concentration is accentuated linking this moment to the confrontation between Theseus and the Minotaur. The final sigh represents the last breath of Asterion.

[Source: MR 2018]


Respire marche pars va-t-en

Sophie Delafontaine

  • Year of composition: 2013
  • Duration: 9:48
  • Instrumentation: stereo fixed medium
  • Publisher(s): Ymx média
  • ISWC: T9210976480


ISRC CAD501910002

When you love, you have to leave
Do not cry with a smile
Do not nest between two breasts
Breathe walk leave go away

— Excerpted from Blaise Cendrars’s Tu es plus belle que le ciel et la mer [our translation]

My reflection started from our breathing and what it represents: life, movement, a swing. This swing is everywhere around us: in the hours that pass, the flow of time, our changing state of mind, or more concretely in our forward gait. Is it also present in our running away?

I left Switzerland to come to Belgium to study acousmatic composition. These studies allowed me to acquire the necessary tools to compose in complete freedom. But at the same time, I felt a kind of nostalgia that made me reflect on my roots. Respire marche pars va-t-en crystallizes the impressions I had when I left.

[English translation: François Couture, iii-19]

Respire marche pars va-t-en [Breathe walk leave go away] was realized in 2013 at the composer’s studio in Brussels (Belgium) and premiered on March 27, 2013, during the concert ÉlectroBelge at Espace Senghor in Brussels (Belgium). Respire marche pars va-t-en won the 2nd prize in the acousmatic music category at the 6th Destellos Electroacoustic Composition Competition (Mar del Plata, Argentina, 2013).


  • March 27, 2013, ÉlectroBelge: Hommage à Arsène Souffriau; Panorama de la musique électroacoustique belge actuelle, Espace Senghor, Brussels (Belgium)




  • 2019-02, Montréal (Québec)