Bourges 2005 (CD + DVD-Video) Track listing detail


Åke Parmerud

  • Year of composition: 1988
  • Duration: 11:46
  • Instrumentation: stereo fixed medium
  • Publisher(s): Ymx média
  • Commission: Sveriges Radio
  • ISWC: T9118583974

The basic structure of Stringquartett (Stråkkvartett; String Quartet) is derived from the number 4. Four players, four types of playing techniques, four layers of velocity, four temperaments, etc. As one of the instrumental combinations that has proven to be a real ‘survivor’ through music history, the string quartet has fascinated me since a long time. Overwhelmed by the number of compositions created for some 300 years I realized that there was little or nothing I could do to create anything even remotely resembeling true ‘originality’ in the sense of bringing new ideas to the form. However, moving the whole concept to another platform gave me the inspiration needed to unfold some visions of how to treat the formal and aural aspects of this specific string combination. Today Stringquartett, as a tape composition, may be regarded as a bit ‘crude,’ based as it is on a sampling technology which at the time was state of the art, but today may be wiewed as ‘antique.’ The structure and energy of the piece still gives it an edge that I like and the conceptual side of transforming the purety of one form into an equal counterpart, renders the piece a quality that last beyond the facts of its ‘instrumental’ shortcomings. The late Swedish poet/author Erik Bäckman allowed me to appear in one of his books as “the composer who kept a string quartet in his pocket.”

Stringquartett was realized in 1988 at the composer’s studio and premiered on June 4, 1989 at the Skinnskatteberg Festival. It was commissioned by Sveriges Radio — the Swedish radio. Stringquartett received an Honorable Mention at the Prix Ars Electronica (Linz, Austria, 1990).


  • June 4, 1989, Skinnskatteberg Festival, Skinnskatteberg (Sweden)


Die Dyer

Marcelle Deschênes / Alain Pelletier

  • Year of composition: 1999
  • Duration: 4:53
  • Form: videomusic
  • Instrumentation: video and stereo fixed medium
This text is unavailable in English.

Soixantième jour d’un huis clos sous contrat. Deux hommes et une femme sous observation continue. Les personnages, tout comme les images, s’abîment, perdent leurs contours et dévoilent leurs vulnérabilités, leurs turpitudes et leurs hémorragies.

Vidéo de Alain Pelletier. Scénario, image, montage, son: Alain Pelletier. Musique: Marcelle Deschênes (citations: Louis Dufort, Bernard Fort, Gilles Gobeil, Jean-François Laporte). Interprètes: Marie-France Marcotte, Jean Turcotte, Lucas Toli, Alain Pelletier, Vélina Chiaourov.

Masterisation réalisée en 2004 par Bruno Bélanger au studio de PRIM, centre d’arts médiatiques à Montréal (grâce à son programme de coproduction).


Kajsa: 3 femmes et 1 promeneur

Stephan Dunkelman

  • Year of composition: 2003
  • Duration: 3:14
  • Form: soundtrack for the video by Jérôme Thomas
  • Instrumentation: stereo fixed medium

This text is unavailable in English.

Kajsa: 3 femmes et 1 promeneur a été primée au 31e Concours international de musique et d’art sonore électroacoustiques de Bourges (France, 2004) dans la catégorie musique pour multimédia.


By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.