Andrew Lewis


  • Andrew Lewis
  • Année de composition: 2009
  • Durée: 15:36
  • Instrumentation: piano, traitement et support 8 canaux (segments déclenchés)
Ce texte n’est pas disponible en français.

Schattenklavier (Shadow-piano) takes as its starting point a fragment of the piano part from Karlheinz Stockhausen’s landmark orchestral work Gruppen (1955-57). This material (heard in quotation towards the end of the piece) takes on something of the role of a theme, upon which are built seven variations. Each of these creates a shadow of the original material (or perhaps, a series of different shadows, cast by different lights and displaying varying degrees of stretching or transformation). The computer part too casts its shadows, with different shades of resonant hues, reflections and ripples being cast by the piano’s light.

Although Schattenklavier takes quite a systematic approach to its material (Stockhausen was a pioneer of advanced serial and formula techniques), these systems are often left incomplete and unfinished, just as Stockhausen’s life itself seemed to end with a strangely inappropriate and (to Stockhausen’s disciples) surprising sense of disorder and incompleteness: he died in December 2007 just before the start of a year of worldwide concerts intended to celebrate his 80th birthday.


Schattenklavier was composed for Xenia Pestova and premiered by her at the Bangor New Music Festival in 2009.


  • 20 mars 2009, Xenia Pestova Bennett, piano • Bangor New Music Festival, Powis Hall — Bangor University, Bangor (Pays de Galles, RU)